The Classics Booktag

I was scrolling though different book blogs when I stumbled across this tag I really liked. It seemed like the perfect tag for a lazy Sunday!

Link to the original tag: http://itsabooksworld.booklikes.com/post/1104267/the-classics-booktag-original

1. An overhyped classic you really didn’t like: 

I would have to say On the Road by Jack Kerouac. Not that it was by any means a bad book, just that, in my opinion, the hype far exceeded my reading experience and how I felt after finishing it.

2. Favourite time period to read about:

I love anything during the French Revolution/France in general and anything set in 19th/20th century Russia.

3. Favourite fairy-tale:

The Little Mermaid by Hans Christian Anderson.

4. What is the most embarrassing classic you haven’t read yet:

Confession: I’ve never read any Jane Austen! I have just ordered and received a gorgeous copy of all of her works though, and plan to plough through them this summer!

5. Top 5 classics you would like to read (soon):

I actually have copies of all these books except Rebecca, so I really do have no excuse for not having read them yet.

  • War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy
  • Frankenstein by Mary Shelley
  • Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier
  • Middlemarch by George Eliot 
  • A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

6. Favourite modern book/series based on a classic:

I haven’t actually read many series based on classics that I can recall.

7. Favourite movie version/tv-series based on a classic:

I have chosen three for this because I’m indecisive. I’m not sure if I’m cheating by including Shakespeare as a ‘classic’, BUT Baz Luhrman’s Romeo and Juliet from 1996 and Russel T Davies’ A Midsummer Night’s Dream adaption from this year are two of my all-time favourite adaptions ever. Not to mention 1968 Romeo and Juliet. Oh, and 2003’s Peter Pan. God, I love that movie.

8. Worst classic to movie adaptation: 

I don’t think I’ve ever actually watched many adaptions of classics, or at least not ones that I remember as being truly awful!

9. Favourite edition(s) you’d like to collect more classics from:

Barnes and Noble Leatherbound Classics! I’m from England, so the versions sold in Waterstones are usually a lot more expensive than they are in the U.S and they have half the collection, which makes me so annoyed. I have around four Leatherbound Classics, but my dream is to own the whole collection!

10. An underhyped classic you’d recommend to everyone:

This is  not underhyped in the slightest, but I would definitely recommend The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde to everybody. It’s one of my all-time favourites.

– Rhan

 

Leave a Reply

